

TERMS OF REFERENCE

Title:

Focus Group on the functioning of the NWWAC (and other ACs) after Brexit (FG Brexit)

Chair:

Sean O'Donoghue

Vice-Chair:

Jacopo Pasquero

Rapporteur:

NWWAC Secretariat

Working language:

English only for virtual meetings, multiple languages for face to face meetings

Time frame and deadline:

18-month period March 2020 - September 2021

This Focus Group will function within the Horizontal Working Group (HWG).

First update to the HWG following virtual meeting in September. A first draft position paper to be circulated to the HWG in Sept/Oct for written approval, then submitted to ExCom for written approval prior to Inter-AC meeting in Vigo.

Update to the Horizontal Working Group following Inter-ACs meeting in October/November 2020 in Vigo.

Objective:

Develop advice to the European Commission on the future functioning of the NWWAC (and other ACs) from 1 January 2021 by:

- a) Assess changes to fisheries policy and management in the NWW, the impact on the NWWAC and prepare advice on the new functioning.
- b) Address overall future functioning with other ACs impacted by Brexit and prepare NWWAC position for (virtual) inter-AC meetings aiming at a joint advice to the Commission
- c) Prepare agenda and the NWWAC position for a meeting with other affected ACs in Vigo in the last quarter of 2020
- d) Identify regulatory issues relating to AC set up and functioning in current CFP in relation to UK withdrawal (e.g. Annex 3, NWWAC area of competence is changing)
- e) Review NWWAC budget implications
- f) Identify practical measures fostering collaboration with UK partners for future AC work on fisheries management



CONSEIL CONSULTATIF POUR NORTH WESTERN CONSEIO CONSULTIVO PARA LES EAUX OCCIDENTALES WATERS LAS AGUAS SEPTENTRIONALES ADVISORY COUNCIL

NOROCCIDENTALES

Members:

Sean O'Donoghue (Chair)	KFO	IND	ΙE
Emiel Brouckaert	Rederscentrale	IND	BE
Caroline Gamblin	CNPMEM	IND	FR
Jesús A. Lourido García	Gerente OPP-77, PUERTO DE CELEIRO S.A.	IND	ES
Geert Meun	VisNed	IND	NL
Olivier Lepretre	Fédération des Organisations de Producteurs de la	IND	FR
	Pêche Artisanale (FEDOPA)		
John Lynch	IFO	IND	ΙE
Hugo Boyle	ISEFPO	IND	IE
Patrick Murphy	ISWFPO	IND	IE
Stavroula Kremmydiotou	EBCD	OIG	EU
Jacopo Pasquero	EBCD	OIG	EU
Mo Mathies (Rapporteur)	NWWAC Secretariat	Sec	